Working Group of Memorial Museums at Former Concentration Camps (AGGOK)

The idea to initiate a “Working Group Early Concentration Camps”, in which the memorial museums at sites of early concentration camps can work together on their special topic, arose at a symposium in Bad Urach in 2018.

The following memorial museums cooperate in this initiative: Ahrensbök, Brauweiler, Berlin-Köpenick, Papestraße Berlin, Topography of Terror Foundation Berlin, Breitenau, Dachau, Esterwegen, Fuhlsbüttel, Kislau, Kemna, Lichtenburg, Moringen, Neustadt/Weinstraße, Oranienburg, Osthofen, Sachsenburg, and Ulm.

On the 90th anniversary of the Nazi regime’s rise to power and the subsequent establishment of concentration camps, the working group is creating a joint exhibition. It will be on view at all sites of early concentration camps beginning 28 February 2023. A working group is also developing accompanying educational material that focus on the establishment of the Nazi dictatorship and the significance of the early concentration camps.

Meeting of the “Working Group Early Concentration Camps” in march 2022 in Osthofen ©NS-Dokumentationszentrum Rheinland-Pfalz/Gedenkstätte KZ Osthofen